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       COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES 
CHILD CARE PLANNING COMMITTEE AND  
POLICY ROUNDTABLE FOR CHILD CARE AND DEVELOPMENT 

 
Winners and Losers 

A Report on the California State Budget and Legislation - Second Session of 2013-14 
Child Care and Development 

 
California State Budget 2014-15 

 
Governor Jerry Brown signed the Budget Act of 2014 and related trailer bills containing implementation language on June 20, 2014, followed by 
his approval of budget “clean-up” bills on September 27, 2014. The $156.3 billion budget conveys a multi-year plan for reducing budgetary debt, 
building and strengthening the teacher pension system, and saving for a rainy day.  At the same time, the budget moderately increases 
investments in education and health and human services among other state-funded services.   
 
Child Care and Development Budget Items1 
The Budget Act of 2014 deviates from previous years of significant cuts followed by very modest efforts to mitigate harm caused by the anticipated 
federal sequestration by taking important strides towards restoring child care and development services.  The budget allocates funds in three key 
areas:  increasing the number of subsidized spaces available to children of low-income families, raising reimbursement rates for subsidized care, 
and enhancing the quality of programs that serve our state’s children and families.  In addition, the budget specifies the requirements for the 
teaching staff of transitional kindergarten, expresses legislative intent for a more robust licensing system to ensure the health and safety of 
children enrolled in centers and family child care homes, and reinstates Early Start for infants and toddlers at risk for developmental delays.    In 
summary, the budget package for child care and development: 
 
 Increases the California State Preschool Program (CSPP) budget by $30 million to serve 11,500 more three and four year old children in part- 

and full-day state preschool; 4,000 of the additional spaces are for part-day state preschool beginning June 15, 2015. 
 

 Adds $57 million to non-Proposition 98 programs, including General Child Care to serve an additional 1,000 infants and toddlers and school 
age children and the Alternative Payment Program to provide child care and development vouchers to an additional 500 children from birth to 
12 years old of low-income families. Of the allocation for General Child Care, $2 million is available to provide 4,000 spaces for wrap-around 
care for children participating in part-day state preschool beginning June 15, 2015.  

 
 Raises the Standard Reimbursement Rate (SRR) for state contracted child care and development programs by five percent, effective July 1, 

2014.   
 
 

                                            
1 For further detail on the budget package for child care and development services, see the Budget Analysis, Governor Signs Budget Act of 2014 – Child Care 
and Development Services (July 2, 2014) prepared on behalf of the Los Angeles County Policy Roundtable for Child Care and Development available for 
download from http://cao.lacounty.gov/ccp/pdf/PRCC/Analysis_GovProposedBudget_2014-15__ECE_2July14.pdf.  

 

http://cao.lacounty.gov/ccp/pdf/PRCC/Analysis_GovProposedBudget_2014-15__ECE_2July14.pdf
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California State Budget 2014-15 
 Updates the Regional Market Rate (RMR) for voucher-based providers, effective January 1, 2015; reimbursement for child care services 

provided through the voucher-based programs will be based on the 85th percentile of rates charged by providers offering the same type of care 
in that region based on the 2009 RMR survey data, reduced by 10.11 percent.   
 

 Allocates $50 million Proposition 98 General Fund to local consortia for support of the local early learning quality rating and improvement 
systems (QRIS) that increase the number of low-income children in high quality preschool programs. 

 
 Makes one-time funds in the amount of $25 million available for professional development and stipends for teacher education for transitional 

kindergarten and state preschool teachers.  Transitional kindergarten teachers are to receive priority for the education stipends.  
 

 Repeals family fees for part-day state preschool by backfilling with $15 million Proposition 98 General Fund. 
 

 Authorizes the California Department of Education (CDE) to develop a process requiring every contracting agency to re-compete for continued 
funding no less than every five years. 
 

 Requires the Commission on Teacher Credentialing (CTC) to review and update, if appropriate, the requirements for the issuance and renewal 
for permits required of child care and development staff, including program supervisors, by July 1, 2016.   

 
 Allows a CSPP contracting agency to retain in a reserve fund an additional 10 percent of the sum of the maximum reimbursable amounts of all 

of its preschool contracts for purposes of professional development of its instructional staff. 
 

 Expresses legislative intent that transitional kindergarten (TK) curriculum be aligned to the California Preschool Learning Foundations 
developed by the CDE. 

 
 Specifies education and credential requirements of teachers assigned to a TK classroom, including units in early childhood education, child 

development, and/or professional experience in a classroom setting with preschool age children. 
 

 Expresses legislative intent to comprehensively increase the penalties for facilities licensed by the California Department of Social Services 
(CDSS) in subsequent legislation, with particular emphasis on penalties for violations that result in serious injury or death. 

 
Budget Bills 
AB 1476 (Committee on 
Budget) 

Budget Act of 2014  
(Technical amendments to approved budget items, including adjustment to the 
RMR deficit factor) 

Chapter 663 
Approved by Governor:  September 27, 2014 

SB 852 (Leno) Budget Act of 2014 Chapter 25 
Approved by Governor:  June 20, 2014 

SB 855 (Committee on Budget 
and Fiscal Review) Human Services – Trailer Bill Language Chapter 29 

Approved by Governor:  June 20, 2014 
SB 856 (Committee on Budget Developmental Services – Trailer Bill Language Chapter 30 
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California State Budget 2014-15 
and Fiscal Review) Approved by Governor:  June 20, 2014 
SB 858 (Committee on Budget 
and Fiscal Review) Education Finance:  Education Omnibus Trailer Bill Chapter 32 

Approved by Governor:  June 20, 2014 

SB 876 (Committee on Budget 
and Fiscal Review) 

Education Finance 
(Budget clean-up – Child Care Facilities Revolving Fund, regional market rate 
ceilings, TK teacher credentials, and more) 

Chapter 687 
Approved by Governor:  September 27, 2014 

 
 
 

California State Legislature – Second Session of 2013-142 
Introduction 
Legislators considered 32 bills (two of which were carryovers from the First Session) of interest to the child care and development community 
during the Second Session of the State Legislative Session for 2013-14.  Twelve bills made it to the Governor’s desk for his consideration, of 
which 11 were approved and one was vetoed. This section contains a brief summary of the bills that passed the legislature for the Governor’s 
consideration and action.  Approved bills take effect on January 1, 2014 unless otherwise noted. 
Health and Safety 

AB 1819 (Hall) 

Amends existing law that currently prohibits smoking in a private residence 
licensed as a family child care home during the hours of operation.  Would 
prohibit smoking of tobacco on the premises of a licensed family child care 
home regardless of hours of operation.   

Chapter 459 
Approved by Governor:  September 19, 2014 

AB 2228 (Cooley) 

Revises existing provisions in Health and Safety code to require licensing of 
crisis nurseries by the California Department of Social Services (CDSS), 
limiting capacity to 14 children and bases maximum licensed capacity on 35 
square feet of indoor and 75 square feet outdoor activity space per child.  In 
addition, establishes staff to child ratios and minimum requirements relating to 
child development coursework and permits, experience working in early 
childhood programs and requires caregivers complete CPR and pediatric first 
aid.  Stipulates maximum number of days children cared for in a crisis 
nursery.   

Chapter 735 
Approved by Governor:  September 28, 2014 

AB 2236 
(Maienschein & 

Stone) 

Beginning 7/1/15, increases civil penalties imposed on licensed facilities for a 
violation that results in death or serious injury to a resident or child under the 
care of the facility.  CDSS to adopt regulations for appeal procedures on 
deficiencies. Sets civil penalties to be assessed per day per violation.  Civil 
penalties range from $1,000-$10,000 depending on type and size of child care 
program (family child care home or center) and whether child suffered serious 
injury or abuse or died. 

Chapter 813 
Approved by Governor:  September 29, 2014 

                                            
2 To obtain additional information about any legislation, go to www.leginfo.ca.gov/bilinfo.htm. 

http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/bilinfo.htm
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AB 2386 (Mullin) 

Requires community care facilities, residential care facilities for the elderly, 
residential care facilities for persons with chronic, life-threatening illness, and 
child development centers and family child care homes (small and large) to 
have one or more carbon monoxide detectors and would require CDSS to 
account for detectors during inspections. 

Chapter 503 
Approved by Governor:  September 20, 2014 

AB 2621 (Garcia & 
Olsen) 

 

Requires, except as prohibited by law, CDSS to post certain information 
pertaining to child care centers (family child care homes exempt) to its Internet 
website, including information on number of site visits, number of citations, 
substantiated and inconclusive complaint inspections, and noncompliant 
inspections during the preceding five year period.  Posted information to be 
updated monthly.  

Chapter 474 
Approved by Governor:  September 19, 2014 

AB 2632 
(Maienschein) 

Prohibits the CDSS from issuing a criminal record clearance for a person 
applying for employment in a licensed facility with a record of an arrest for a 
non-exemptible crime.  CDSS to complete an investigation of the incident to 
establish conduct by person that may pose a risk to the health and safety of 
any person who is or may become a client.  Requires person not exempt from 
fingerprinting to sign a declaration under penalty of perjury regarding any prior 
criminal convictions. 

Chapter 824 
Approved by Governor:  September 29,2014 

School Age Children 

AB 1944 (Garcia) 

Deletes provision of Education Code requiring 11 and 12 year old children 
eligible for subsidized child care and development services use before and 
after school programs, unless parent certifies in writing that program does not 
meet family needs.  In addition, deletes provision requiring annual reports on 
the savings generated from the preferred placement of children in before and 
after school program.  

Chapter 460 
Approved by Governor:  September 19, 2014 

SB 949 (Jackson) 
 

Establishes the Distinguished After School Health (DASH) Recognition 
Program to be administered by the CDE.  CDE to develop process for an after 
school program to be recognized as meeting the healthy eating and physical 
activity requirements specified in the bill and to include all resources and links 
that an after school program may use to meet the requirements. The CDE to 
post on its website afterschool programs that meet requirements.  Certificate 
would be valid for one year and require posting list of certificate holders on 
Internet website. 

Chapter 369 
Approved by Governor:  September 16, 2014 
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SB 1221 (Hancock) 
 

Amends several sections of the Education Code relating to the 21st Century 
High School After School Safety and Enrichment for Teens (ASSETS) and the 
After School Education and Safety (ASES) Program.  Gives priority for grants 
to programs that provide year round learning opportunities and defines 
expanded learning as before and after school, summer and intersession 
programs that complement school day and school year learning.  Contains 
data components and programs required to demonstrate field-recognized and 
research-based quality improvement assessments tools and processes are in 
place.  Makes additional funding available for transportation if program 
operated as school site is in area with population density of less than 11 
persons per square mile.  

Chapter 370 
Approved by Governor:  September 16, 2014 

Miscellaneous 

SB 1023 (Liu) 
 

Allows the Office of the Chancellor of the Community Colleges to enter into 
agreements with up to 10 community college districts to provide funds for 
services in support of postsecondary education for foster youth and expand 
the number of students participating in the Community College Extended 
Opportunity Programs and Services. Support services may include child care 
as well as transportation allowances, money for books and supplies, 
counseling and other services and referrals to mental health services and 
housing assistance. 

Chapter 771 
Approved by Governor:  September 29, 2014 

Kindergarten 

AB 1444 (Weber) Would require, beginning with the 2016-17 school year, a child to have 
completed one year of kindergarten before being admitted to the 1st grade. 

Vetoed 9/28/14  
Message, in part:  “I would prefer to let parents 
determine what is best for their children, rather than 
mandate an entirely new grade level.” 

AB 1719 (Weber 
and Buchanan) 

Would require the Superintendent of Public Instruction (SPI) to provide the 
Legislature no later than July 1, 2017, with an evaluation of kindergarten 
implementation in the state, including part- and full-day and best practices.  
Commencing with the 2015–16 school year, local education agencies to 
provide the CDE with annual reports with information on the type of 
kindergarten program offered, including part-day, full-day, or both. 

Chapter 723 
Approved by Governor:  September 28, 2014 

 
 
Questions or comments relating to this document may be referred to Michele Sartell, Los Angeles County Office of Child Care within the Service 
Integration Branch of the Chief Executive Office, by e-mail at msartell@ceo.lacounty.gov or by telephone at (213) 974-5187. 

mailto:msartell@ceo.lacounty.gov

