Welcome to Los Angeles County Online
Los Angeles County OnlineGraphic Version Most Requested
Cultural diversity of Los Angeles County Executive Budget/Operations Facilites & Asset Management Intergovernmental Relations Risk Management Service Integration Unincorporated Area Services/Special Projects



Kenneth Hahn Hall of Administration
500 W. Temple Street, Room 723, Los Angeles, CA 90012
(213) 974-2615

The Office of Unincorporated Area Services (OUAS), a branch of the Chief Executive Office, provides support to the Board of Supervisors and other County departments on a variety of topics related to the unincorporated communities. This site provides a sample of the current types of assignments and responsibilities being undertaken by OUAS.

Working with County departments providing direct public service, and in partnership with the different supervisorial districts, the Office of Unincorporated Area Services focuses on coordinating, enhancing and improving municipal services provided to the County’s unincorporated areas. The Office also processes various jurisdictional changes including annexations, boundary changes, sphere of influence amendments and incorporations.

What is an Unincorporated Area?

Unincorporated areas are those communities and areas that are outside the jurisdictional boundaries of incorporated cities. As such, they are not serviced by an incorporated city. County government serves as the "city" for these areas by providing basic municipal services such as law enforcement, zoning, building permits, libraries, parks, recreational programs, street maintenance, and traffic signals and stop signs.

In Los Angeles County, unincorporated areas include more than 1 million residents living in approximately 300,000 households. The areas cover 2,600 square miles and represent one-tenth of the County population and two-thirds of the land area. Some unincorporated areas are as small as a couple of blocks and some are very similar in population and development to cities.

Click here to view a list of all the unincorporated areas in Los Angeles County.

Contact Us